Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
October 2, 2023

Becker Still the Choice Among CPA Exam Overachievers

Serious question: when did they start handing out nearly FORTY Elijah Watt Sells awards a year instead of 10? Is this like what they started doing in elementary school when they would hand out trophies to all the kids on the soccer team, even the big fat losers?

Anyway, the AICPA announced 37 Elijah Watt Sells winners for 2011, 31 of which passed the exam with Becker. Becker wants to make sure you know that this isn't any less exciting than every one of 2010's 19 winners having prepared with Becker, it's still a big deal:

Becker Professional Education, a global leader in professional education and a part of DeVry, has announced that 31 of the 37 Elijah Watt Sells Award 2011 recipients achieved exam success by preparing with Becker's CPA Exam Review. Since 2005, when the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) began to publish award recipients, almost 90 percent of winners have prepared for the exam by using Becker's CPA Exam Review.

The Elijah Watt Sells Award is given to CPA candidates who receive a 95.50 cumulative average on their first attempt on all four sections of the Uniform CPA Exam within one year. The AICPA established the award program to highlight exceptional achievements on the Uniform CPA Exam. More than 90,000 candidates took the CPA Exam in 2011.

"Congratulations are in order to all of the Elijah Watt Sells Award winners. It is truly a remarkable accomplishment for individuals to master the content that is tested on the CPA exam," said John Roselli, president of Becker Professional Education. "We understand the drive and determination that is required in order to attain this level of achievement and we are grateful that so many winners trust Becker to help them prepare."

We're willing to assume Becker's slip has absolutely nothing to do with a degradation in quality but rather simply due to the fact that there are SO DANG MANY award winners now.

At this rate, maybe they'll give away 75 awards next year. Keep aiming high, kids, everyone is a winner!

Previous coverage of EWSA:
2011 Elijah Watt Sells Award Winners
2010 Elijah Watt Sells Award Winners

Latest Accounting Jobs--Apply Now:

Have something to add to this story? Give us a shout by email, Twitter, or text/call the tipline at 202-505-8885. As always, all tips are anonymous.

Comments are closed.

Related articles

a runner on pavement

CPA Exam Candidates: You Better Hurry Up and Apply For BEC Before It’s Gone Forever

Once again @profjackc has tweeted a very important reminder for current CPA exam candidates and once again we’re here signal boosting said reminder because it’s important information. If you are a first time BEC section exam candidate most states will stop processing your NTS after next Monday, Oct. 1. Do not delay! Get in your […]

illuminated lightbulb on a table with keys next to it

Opinion: On-the-Job Experiential Learning Credit to Meet the 150-hour Requirement Makes Sense

Ed. note: the following is by Joseph P. Petito, Esq. Joe currently serves on the Maryland State Board of Accountancy and the board of directors of the NASBA Center for the Public Trust. Full bio at the bottom. I love accounting. Though an attorney and not a CPA, I’ve spent over 30 years in and […]